Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login.

Notification

Icon
Error

Embedded Android
Eddy_D
#1 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 10:59:50 AM(UTC)

Just thought I would launch this topic to gather user experiences on this. I am just getting into this subject myself and it seems to be very useful to be able to take Android+Linux as a starting point for a new embedded product. There does not seem to be a lot of info on this subject at this time (get the book finished Karim! :) ), so maybe drop some links that you have found useful.

Also, the latest changes to the Linux v3 branch have incorporated some of the Android patches as native components in Linux now (wakelock API and Binder) so it may even be possible to leverage off of these, without using the Android filesystem, to accelerate an embedded product.

I will drop some in that I have found, in following replies.

Your thoughts?

- Eddy_D
Eddy_D
#2 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 11:09:03 AM(UTC)

And some of my links to-date;

Porting Android - Adding peripherals to Android
(has an example of adding a Wifi modem to Android!)
http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/TI-Android-ICS-PortingGuide

A Guide to Android Memory Usage & Memory Optimization
http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/TI-Android-ICS-MemoryOptimization

Android Boot time optimization
http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/TI-Android-ICS-BootTimeOptimization

Android Developers
https://developer.android.com/index.html

Android Open Source Project (ASOP)
http://source.android.com/

Android on TI Processors (rowboat)
http://code.google.com/p/rowboat/

[Book] Embedded Android, Karim Yaghmour (not out as of Sept 2012) O'Reilly Media
ISBN: 978-1-4493-0829-2
ISBN 10: 1-4493-0829-5
http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920021094.do?sortby=publicationDate

Johan Dams
#3 Posted : Saturday, September 22, 2012 7:34:00 PM(UTC)

Hi.