Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login.

Notification

Icon
Error

New to Embedded Programming
duncanstives
#1 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 6:08:09 AM(UTC)

Hi all,
Sorry if this sounds overly vague, ambitious, or otherwise stupid but I am a production engineer at a small company that is diving into a new line of business with both feet. Having no one with more than the tiniest bit of software or programming experience I was put in charge of the project... I need to become proficient with (or at least slightly knowledgeable about) embedded programming of SoCs by some time early last week.

Recommend courses, web sites developer boards, whatever... I don't really care if they cost money or not and I don't really care if I have to travel but time is of the greatest importance... I will get to hire people if I need to (and I will) but I need to be able to know my a** from a hole in the ground so to speak... Specifically I am looking for information on:
Embedded C
Assembly Language
Major manufacturers/Players in the industry
Terminology
Overall architecture of these types of systems
Everything

My software experience is extensive in ladder logic and stuff like that (production equipment using PLCs), a tiny bit of BASIC as 12 year old kid, a little bit of reading here and there and that's it... Assume I am a complete idiot and you probably won't be disappointed.
ANY help pointing me in the right direction will be much appreciated.
Thanks.
Miro Samek
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 11:16:16 AM(UTC)

Perhaps a good starting point for you could be the "Modern Embedded Systems Programming" video course on YouTube. This course teaches the C programming language, but with the embedded software perspective. Specifically, in every lesson you see how the CPU (ARM Cortex-M in this course) executes your code and how the newly introduced concepts are ultimately implemented.
PurpleAlien
#3 Posted : Sunday, August 31, 2014 7:07:06 AM(UTC)

Hi.